What Past Life Regression Is Like…

Liz Roberta
8 min readNov 2, 2021

--

PAST LIVES are something that have always fascinated humanity, and if you’re curious about seeing yours — there’s a way that you can.

For the first time ever, I had a past life regression after leaving it on my to-do list for many years. I never found the right person to take me through the process until I finally met Daniel @ The Past Life Regressionist.

I’ve tried and tested so many different types of readings, but this was like no other because I was the one experiencing it all…

When you have a past life regression, it’s not someone telling you what they see. It’s you experiencing everything that you can see from your own past lives.

Our past lives are something that we casually refer to in conversation, like saying that people we know are “probably from a past life” (for more about this, see my other blog How To Know If You Have A Past Life Connection With Someone).

You may also feel inexplicably enamoured by certain places or styles, for example, I’ve always felt attached to Japan and once I had my Reiki attunement this just got even stronger. When I looked around my house, I noticed that there were white flying cranes, delicate fan prints and oriental waves emblazoned all over my interiors, bedsheets and mugs.

The funny thing? I’ve never even been to Japan!

⋆☽ What is Past Life Regression? ☾⋆

If you connect with the idea that your soul comes back to Earth again and again and is born into different bodies over many lifetimes, that’s what you’ll be exploring more during your past life regression.

What many people don’t know about past life regression is that it’s an immensely healing experience.

We can hold on to so much trauma from our past lives where we were betrayed, killed, silenced or heartbroken in some way, and that stays in our energy field where it can still affect us.

By going through this regression experience, we can unlock the wounds we haven’t been able to fully heal so far because we didn’t make them in this life.

⋆☽ What happens in a regression session? ☾⋆

As The Past Life Regressionist is based in California and I’m in England, we held our session over Zoom. This would have been the case for any regressionist I used though, as I had my session during the pandemic.

And if you’re wondering — no, it didn’t lessen my experience at all!

I also did an interview with the regressionist on my podcast to share more about how it works taking people through their other lifetimes. Listen to Time Travel with The Past Life Regressionist here 🎙️

A questionnaire was sent to me beforehand so that I could get clear on my intentions for the meeting and anything I particularly wanted to look into, and then the first hour of the session was spent having a consultation.

I’ve had hypnotherapy before — 3 sessions for generalised anxiety disorder + 2 for fear of public speaking — and the process was very similar to that. The state of hypnosis I went into also felt the same as when I had hypnotherapy.

I feel obliged to mention here that there’s some serious stigma around what “hypnosis” really means! In absolutely no way are you at the mercy of your regressionist. You’re entirely conscious and aware, but you’re just in a very relaxed state that I’d describe as like being in a deep meditation.

It was very easy for me to get into this state as I was lying on my sofa alone in my own home, under a nice blanket…

Then, once it’s time to begin after the consultation, your practitioner talks you through the beginning of the regression to relax you and bring you through various states of consciousness; through an Alpha state to a Theta state.

Once they’ve led you through the meditation, you’ll probably have some visualisation practice where you describe certain images so that you get used to saying exactly what you’re seeing in your mind.

If you have any clairvoyant ability, you’ll likely see your past lives in the same way as you see a vision. If you don’t, it’s kind of like seeing movie images in your mind.

I also found that my experience was very sentient too, for example, in one lifetime I knew I was poisoned from feeling very dizzy and like the room was spinning, and I was also moved to tears going into one of my other lifetimes because I was so upset at what happened.

I don’t want any of these to frighten you though because, as I said before, I was completely in control and at any moment in the regression I could have instantly come out of it just by opening my eyes if I wanted to.

⋆☽ What did I see? ☾⋆

Now, for the exciting part! What I actually saw…

For me, my lifetimes moved in chronological order — ranging from 6000 BC to Victorian times. That said, I only saw 5 lifetimes, so you can expect to just see the ones which are most important for you to acknowledge and heal.

My session was about 5 hours in total but I didn’t realise it at all. In the first lifetime I saw, I was an Egyptian heir to the throne. But I wasn’t the son of a ruler as such — my father was a spiritual leader who was in charge at the time.

There were pyramids (yep, just like you’d imagine) and I was stood watching a human sacrifice. I felt like something wasn’t quite right, as if they didn’t really get what spirituality meant (!) and I found it all very cold and ritualistic. The rituals meant everything in that lifetime.

I was probably aged between 17–19 in the vision and when I asked myself why I died, that’s when the room started spinning and I realised that I’d been poisoned. Afterwards, I Googled whether human sacrifice took place in Egypt because I’d never heard of it before and that’s where I got the date of 6000 BC.

On to the next lifetime I went…

In the next lifetime, I was part of a jungle tribe and my existence was simple and beautiful; everyone was completely in tune with nature and astrology was a sacred part of how we ran our lives. I was being shown this lifetime as an example of how easy life can be and how wonderful it feels to be in flow with nature.

Not much to learn here, but a welcome reminder of how good life can be.

The next lifetime…

Then I moved into the 1600’s where I was a lowly woman who lived in a village of huts between towering tall trees in a forest. A colonial man on a horse came in and set the village alight, making me fall to my knees screaming as I stared at a burning hut with my baby inside.

I was so overcome with emotion that I started crying, which is unusual for me, but I was genuinely distraught. After doing some healing work with the regressionist, I saw my soul floating out of that body as if I’d managed to finally release the trauma I’d been holding onto ever since.

I don’t know about other regressionists, but Daniel has a specific technique to help you release any trauma from each lifetime if you need it.

Now, for another beautiful lifetime!

My beloved Japan… being a spiritual teacher and writer, and again, feeling so in tune with nature.

Between Mount Fuji and the pink cherry blossom, there I was, living my best life! This was one for the memory books, and again — like the jungle life — is something that I can always try to attain while I’m here and in the lives still to come.

The last one I saw…

I was born a wealthy lady in a Victorian manor house and because of my class, I was fortunate enough to have an education. My heart was telling me that I wanted to write but the husband of the arranged marriage I was in thought differently.

I could see myself talking to the house staff, who were the only people I really felt connected to, but then I’d get scolded and snatched away from them because we weren’t meant to mix with other classes. The aristocracy which could be seen from the outside as a blessing felt like a suffocating curse.

I saw us stood by the fireplace arguing and him snatching the paper that I was writing on before throwing it into the fire. Again, emotion started to rise up and I felt furious, as though I absolutely couldn’t stand this man.

No surprise… more healing and release work was required for this one!

⋆☽ What did I learn? ☾⋆

The main thing I learned is that we still carry so much emotional baggage from other lifetimes.

I can see how it would be easy to write it off as just illusions and metaphors rising up from our subconscious, which is why I believe it’s important to actually experience it before you make any kind of judgement.

Otherwise, you have a very incomplete picture to base your assessment on.

It confirmed some of the things I already intuitively felt, like my attachment to certain places, and it helped me to reach some of the grief and trauma that I would never have been able to access here and now without the session.

I saw a common theme of writing which I wasn’t surprised by at all, as writing is still my favourite thing to do. And I also crossed paths with some dear friends that, again — no surprise, were with me through many other incarnations.

☽ ☆ ☾

Overall, I think that if you’ve been drawn to read this article then it’s for a reason. When we have that intuitive pull towards something like this, it’s because our soul senses that our time is coming and it’s almost ready to dive deeper.

There might be something in a past life regression session for you that could give you the answers you haven’t found yet. My experience was profound, healing and will stay with me forever.

If you decide to have one too, I hope that yours will be the same.

Follow me on Instagram!

Originally published at https://lizroberta.com.

--

--

Liz Roberta

A Hay House author and Award Winning Spiritual Coach named the “Emerging Voice” of 2020 and one of the “5 Most Influential Female Coaches” of 2021