5 Books That Will Change How You See The World

Liz Roberta
6 min readMar 4, 2020

--

As it’s World Book Day on 5th March, I was trying to think of a book-related blog that I could give you even though I already wrote The 5 Best Self Help Books Of All Time 📚

So, this is a roundup of the books which promise to make you see things differently. After reading each of these titles, I experienced a profound shift. My eyes were opened to what each author was telling me, and I haven’t been able to return to my old way of thinking since.

I hope these books will open your mind to new ways of seeing the world too…

“The Tipping Point is that magic moment when an idea, trend, or social behaviour crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire…” — Malcolm Gladwell

HOW IT CHANGES YOUR VIEWPOINT

It makes you realise that, as individuals, we have huge power to create change in the world. Just like a tiny match that looks so small, while being able to bring down a whole town.

WHY I ❤️ IT…

Malcolm Gladwell is my favourite author so anything he writes is immediately a winner in my eyes. His journalistic style is what makes this book so convincing (he’s worked at The New Yorker & The Washington Post) and it’s packed full of fascinating research and anecdotes to illustrate what he’s saying. His point is that the effect of social contagion is the secret ingredient you’ll need if you want to create a change worthy of making the history books. Because even if at first it looks like nothing is happening, it might eventually reach a critical mass…

A pivotal moment. A Tipping Point.

Whether it’s a fashion trend, a global epidemic or a cultural zeitgeist — with enough time, luck and momentum — anything that starts off small can become significant. That’s why this book has the power to change how you think. I haven’t read Greta Thunberg’s book but I’m guessing the message is similar. No-one is too small to make a difference.

HOW IT CHANGES YOUR VIEWPOINT

It shows you that there is life after death and that miracles are possible, as long as they serve a higher purpose. I’m much less worried about my own death after reading this book.

WHY I ❤️ IT…

If you want to know where people go when they die, this book will tell you. Like all of my best books, I’ve passed my own copy on to my mum, and then my friend Jessica to read. I’ve never doubted that our soul survives without a body, but Anita Moorjani literally tells you what happens next and what the experience of dying is like, first-hand. This might sound morbid and depressing, but it’s actually the opposite.

It’s very apparent that the death is far more upsetting for the people still living, rather than the soul who’s exiting Earth. As you might have guessed, the author Anita Moorjani was given permission to come back to life and have a second chance (as long as she shared this message) so this is a touching personal memoir about a near-death experience (NDE). It’s beautifully written and I engulfed this one pretty quickly because I couldn’t put it down and wanted to know what happened next — pun intended.

HOW IT CHANGES YOUR VIEWPOINT

When I was young, I believed that my teddy bears and toys were alive, but as adults, we’re made to believe that this kind of thinking is silly. Marie Kondo sprinkles some of that magic back into your life with this book.

WHY I ❤️ IT…

Again, I gave this one to my mum to read! And she was reluctant to take it off my hands because she thought it would be a boring how-to-tidy guide with infographics about folding clothes. The cover doesn’t give much away (Marie Kondo is a Japanese minimalist after all) but the reason that this book has been so successful is that it’s touching, uplifting and a beautiful read. With no diagrams in sight.

Marie didn’t decide to leave her optimism behind just because she turned 18, and I think that’s why people love her; we all want to feel that way again. She loves her possessions as if they’re alive, and thinks our belongings should be loved and adored to keep them happy and functioning. You might guess that her message is about owning less, but it’s actually about truly feeling grateful for everything you own. There’s a hidden spiritual current throughout this book as she talks about keeping what “sparks joy”, letting go, and feeling abundant with everything you already have. It’s also fun to learn how she freaks out her clients by kneeling down on the floor and greeting “the house” before them.

HOW IT CHANGES YOUR VIEWPOINT

It makes you think of a brand as a life force that connects people, rather than an empty business — which is super helpful if you have one.

WHY I ❤️ IT…

I’ve read a lot of marketing books and this one is my all time fave. I actually recommend it to any of my coaching clients that I’m helping with their spiritual business because it makes the whole process of marketing and branding seem incredibly easy, fun and intuitive. For your brand to attract your perfect clients, it should reflect your internal passion and therefore it should be fun!

Donald Miller is a multiple New York Times Bestselling author and when you read his writing it’s clear why. This book is like candy to read, and it will make you feel more inspired about your brand than ever before as he guides you through how to bring it to life and make it flourish as a result. I only wish there were more business books this inspiring.

HOW IT CHANGES YOUR VIEWPOINT

I hate winter and English weather in general, but this book made me think it’s not so bad.

WHY I ❤️ IT…

Instead of grey clouds, wind and umbrellas — think candles, blankets and hot cocoa. This is the general theme of the book: embrace the bad weather for what can be good about it.

The Danish are said to be the happiest people in the world, in spite of the terrible weather they have (like us in the UK + other places in northern Europe and North America). But why do the Danes consistently come out on top in happiness surveys? Because they fill their lives with a little Hygge.

They celebrate being able to spend time together inside, safe from the cold, with snuggly socks and deep conversations by the fire. It’s also possible to Hygge in Summer too, but what really stood out to me was the enjoying winter part, because that was the tonic that I really needed from this book. A great gift (it was a Christmas present to me from my mother) for anyone who needs a new perspective on enjoying life, whatever the weather.

☽ ☆ ☾

Can you recommend any books which have changed how YOU see the world? Let me know in the comments or on Instagram!

Follow me on Instagram!

Originally published at https://lizroberta.com on March 4, 2020.

--

--

Liz Roberta

A Hay House author and Award Winning Spiritual Coach named the “Emerging Voice” of 2020 and one of the “5 Most Influential Female Coaches” of 2021